Atkinsons Bullion & Coins

The Royal Mint’s Queen’s Beasts bullion coin collection has been highly successful since the launch of the very first coin, the Lion of England, in 2016. As we await with bated breath the newest, and final coin to be added to the range, the White Greyhound of Richmond - here we are taking a look at each of the coins released so far.

Taking inspiration from hundreds of years of British royal heraldry, the full Queen’s Beasts Collection includes ten coins. Available in gold, silver and platinum, nine of the ten coins are currently available to purchase, with the tenth available very soon (watch this space!).

The Lion of England

Released in March 2016, The Lion of England was the first coin in the series to be produced. Rather fittingly, the lion is an animal which has a very well-established history of being used as a symbol within royal emblems. Associated with bravery and displays of courage in battle, the lion motif has always been incorporated into England’s shields. The first Lion of England bullion coins to be released sold out very quickly after their initial circulation, demonstrating strong demand for the Queen’s Beasts symbolic coin series.  

The Griffin of Edward III

The Griffin of Edward III coin was first released in October 2016. Half lion and half eagle, the griffin is a heraldic symbol of courage that is closely associated with the military, as the mythological being often fights powerful monsters. King Edward III supervised significant military changes during his reign, including the start of what has since been referred to as the Hundred Years’ War. The griffin’s connection to military matters and guardianship, therefore, made it a very appropriate tribute to King Edward’s contributions to British history.

The Red Dragon of Wales

Circulating from March 2017, the Red Dragon of Wales coin features the heraldic animal that has been included on the crest of the British monarchs since Henry VII’s reign. Having increased his power and influence through the Wars of the Roses, King Henry VII is believed to have adopted the symbol of the Red Dragon, which was previously used by his grandfather, who was a descendant of Welsh royalty.

The Unicorn of Scotland

Having released the Red Dragon of Wales coin to acknowledge Welsh royalty, the next coin to be introduced was the Unicorn of Scotland coin. Released in September 2017, the coin was designed to incorporate Scotland’s national animal. Signifying masculinity, purity and power, the unicorn was adopted across Scottish symbols of arms during the 12th century. 

The Black Bull of Clarence

Introduced in March 2018, the Black Bull of Clarence coin relates to the noble title of Duke of Clarence, which was awarded to younger members of British royalty from 1362. The black bull stands for strength and courage amongst the nobility, and it can be traced back to the House of York’s Edward IV of England. 

The Falcon of the Plantagenets 

Symbolising a promising balance of courage and intellect, the Falcon of the Plantagenets coin was first released in March 2019. Associated with nobility, the falcon emblem was passed down the royal lineage to King Edward IV. He subsequently included a shackle within the emblem, known as a fetterlock, to resemble a padlock that would represent his struggle to ascend the throne. 

The Yale of Beaufort

Introduced in February 2019, the Yale of Beaufort coin depicts a mythical creature sometimes referred to as a centicore. A cross between an Ibex goat and an antelope, the yale (or centicore) is considered to symbolise fortitude and strength during battle. It was also associated with Lady Margaret Beaufort, Henry VII’s mother. The coin will show the heraldic creature holding a quartered shield that bears a portcullis at its centre. The portcullis was used by Henry VII to signify defence. 

The White Lion of Mortimer

First released in September 2019, the White Lion of Mortimer coin was designed to include an image of the crownless Mortimer lion with a blue tongue. Adopted by the Queen from King Edward IV, the Mortimer lion was a symbol also held in high regard by King George VI, the Queen’s father. Within the coin, the lion is sitting and holding a shield which incorporates a golden sun graphic. The image of the sun was used by Edward IV as a heraldic emblem following the appearance of a parhelion (also known as a ‘mock sun’) shortly before he emerged victorious from The Battle of Mortimer’s Cross.

The White Horse of Hanover 

Circulating from March 2020, the White Horse of Hanover coin depicts a white horse on its hind legs directly over an emblem of King George I’s Royal Coat of Arms. Taking to the throne in 1714, George I was the first Hanoverian to rule Britain. The emblem of the Coat of Arms will be divided into quarters, with each part representing Britain (England and Scotland), Ireland, France and Hanover (Hanover, Brunswick and Lüneburg).

The White Greyhound of Richmond

Due to be released in September 2020, the White Greyhound of Richmond coin will complete the Royal Mint’s Queen’s Beasts collection. The design features another royal symbol that was closely linked to King Henry VII. A greyhound wearing a studded collar and resting upon a Tudor Shield will form the coin’s design. Keep a close eye on our website for the chance to order yours and complete your Queen’s Beasts collection.

Exempt from Capital Gains Tax

As Queen’s Beasts are legal tender issued by The Royal Mint, these coins can be sold by UK residents without incurring Capital Gains Tax charges. Contact us to find out how much you could make by selling gold and silver coins to Atkinsons Bullion. You can also view our live gold and silver prices chart as a point of comparison, to ensure we’re offering a fair and competitive price.

Secure your Greyhound of Richmond Coin

Shop Now

This blog represents one person’s opinion only. Customers should conduct their own research and take advice before making an investment. We do not offer investment advice.